Executive Team & Staff

The Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas’ efforts are guided by an executive team and staff that are committed to fulfilling CPRIT’s mission to find and fund the best cancer research and prevention projects in Texas.

Wayne Roberts

Chief Executive Officer

Wayne Roberts has been with the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas since December 2012, first as Interim Executive Director and then as Chief Executive Officer.  

Prior to four years with The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston as Associate Vice President for Public Policy, Wayne’s career emphasized public finance and budget, especially related to higher education and economic development. He held numerous senior positions under Governor Rick Perry.

Read More

James K.V. Willson

Chief Scientific Officer

Dr. Willson leads CPRIT’s academic research program in supporting innovation in cancer research and recruiting world-class cancer researchers to Texas institutions. He is nationally renowned for his work in the genetics of colorectal cancer, having spent more than three decades in the field. Dr. Willson’s research led to the development of cell and animal models for human colon cancer that have been key to identifying genetic factors in disease progression.

Read More

Ramona Magid

Chief Prevention Officer

Ramona Magid heads up CPRIT’s prevention program in supporting evidence-based prevention services in all 254 counties of Texas. Her responsibilities include directing the prevention program and fostering collaboration among the cancer and disease prevention community to maximize CPRIT's impact.

Read More

Cindy R. WalkerPeach

Chief Product Development Officer

Dr. WalkerPeach leads CPRIT’s Product Development Program to critically evaluate and fund Texas-based companies with promising novel assets (drugs, diagnostics, and medical devices) and services that will benefit cancer patients and society.

Read More

Kristen Doyle

Deputy Executive Officer, General Counsel

Ms. Doyle is responsible for overseeing the legal issues that arise as part of CPRIT’s operations, including grant award contract negotiations, intellectual property and revenue sharing agreements, conflicts of interest and confidentiality, and regulatory/compliance issues.  Prior to joining CPRIT, Ms. Doyle was a partner at an Austin-based law firm and served as Vice President of the Board of Directors for the Central Texas Chapter for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

Read More

Heidi McConnell

Chief Operating Officer

Ms. McConnell has oversight of CPRIT’s daily operations, including financial administration, grant administration, information technology services, procurement, human resources, facilities, and CPRIT conference planning. She has been with CPRIT since 2009.

Read More

Vince Burgess

Chief Compliance Officer

Mr. Burgess oversees compliance strategy and planning for CPRIT’s grant review, award, and monitoring processes.  As the Chief Compliance Officer, he is also responsible for assessing and ensuring compliance by the Institute’s committee members and employees with applicable laws, rules, and policies, including matters of ethics and standards of conduct, financial reporting, internal accounting controls, and auditing.

Read More

Tracey Davies

Chief Strategic Initiatives and Intellectual Property Officer

Tracey Davies has more than 20 years of experience advising life science companies at all stages of development and research institutions across a broad range of business and legal issues. She is also a licensed patent attorney.

Read More

Demitra Alexander

Grant Accountant

Ralph Azeez

Grant Compliance Specialist

Ann Bjorgo

Grant Accountant

Donald Brandy

Purchaser and HUB Coordinator

Melanie Cleveland

Executive Assistant

Randy Cunningham

Grant Accountant

Shannon Cusick


Chris Cutrone

Senior Communications Specialist

Jennifer Dear

Compliance Specialist

Ed Dorotik

Grant Accountant

Araceli Dwyer

Operations Specialist

Cameron Eckel


Rosemary French

Senior Program Manager for Product Development Research

Michelle Huddleston


Melanie Jamison

Grant Compliance Specialist

Daniel Limas

Operations Specialist

Debra McHenry

Grant Accountant

Patricia Moore

Senior Program Manager for Research

Stephen Nance

Compliance Program Manager

Lisa Nelson

Operations Manager

Sandra Reyes

Operations Specialist

Therry Simien

Information Technology Officer

Kelli Starbird

Grant Compliance Specialist

Rashonda Thomas

Grant Compliance Specialist