University Advisory Committee (UAC)

The University Advisory Committee (UAC) advises the Oversight Committee about the role of higher education in cancer research. The members of the UAC include representatives of all of Texas’ public university systems and private research universities.


Michelle C. Barton, Ph.D., Chair
Dean, Graduate School Biomed Sciences
Professor, Department of Epigenetics and Molecular Carcinogenesis
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

C. Kent Osborne, M.D., Vice Chair
Duncan Cancer Center
Baylor College of Medicine

Carrie L. Byington, M.D.
The Jean and Thomas McMullin Professor and Dean of Medicine
Senior Vice President, Health Science Center
Vice Chancellor for Health Services
Texas A&M University

Anuja Ghorpade, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research, Division of Research & Innovation
University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth

Walter E. Horton Jr., Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Research & Federal Relations
Chief Research Officer
Texas State University

Claudia Neuhauser, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President/Associate Vice Chancellor for Research & Technology Transfer
HHMI Professor, Mathematics
Division of Research
University of Houston/University of Houston System

Mustafa Lokhandwala, Ph.D.
Executive Vice Dean for Research
Professor of Pharmacology
University of Houston

David Niesel, Ph.D.
Chief Research Officer
Vice President and Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Lawrence E. Ethridge, Jr., Professor, Department of Microbiology
University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Peter S. Rotwein, M.D.
Chair and Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences
VP for Research
Associate Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso

Yousif Shamoo, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Research
Rice University